Novel Destinations, by Shannon McKenna Schmidt & Joni Rendon, adds literary light to destinations where famous writers lived, stayed, wrote, ate and socialized and more.
This comprehensive, in-depth guidebook offers literary travelers a different side of many famous (and not-so-famous) cities and towns. Stay at the same hotel as Charles Dickens in Florence, or stop for a beer at one of John Steinbeck’s old New York City haunts, or visit Orchard House (think Little Women) if you find yourself in Concord, Massachusetts. Those of us with Jane Austen obsessions (I’m not admitting anything) who happen to love Bath, England, can take the Jane Austen’s Bath Walking Tour (and stop at the Museum of Costume) and take tea at the Pump Room.
Even better…these two ladies have a blog to take their travels, research and writing yet further in their bibliophile explorations. Do I smell a volume 2? I’m hooked. Enjoy!

Novel Destinatons CoverNovel Destinations, by Shannon McKenna Schmidt & Joni Rendon, adds literary light to destinations where famous writers lived, stayed, wrote, ate and socialized and more.

This book encompasses three of my favorite things: travel, literature and history. Don’t worry, I already know I’m a nerd. But at any rate – I came across this book at my part-time gig a few months ago and often find myself picking it up only to find more and more places I’ve added to my “to visit” wishlist.

This comprehensive, in-depth guidebook offers literary travelers a different side of many famous (and not-so-famous) cities and towns. Stay at the same hotel as Charles Dickens in Florence, or stop for a beer at one of John Steinbeck’s old New York City haunts, or visit Orchard House (think Little Women) if you find yourself in Concord, Massachusetts.Museum of Costume

Those of us with Jane Austen obsessions (I’m not admitting anything) who happen to love Bath, England, can take the Jane Austen’s Bath Walking Tour (and stop at the Museum of Costume) and take tea at the Pump Room.

 
Even better…these two ladies have a blog to take their travels, research and writing yet further in their bibliophile explorations. Perhaps a second volume?

Enjoy!