And while I’m on the topic of fabric, I’ve been doing a bit of spring cleaning around my office/sewing space these past few weeks and have since realized just how much fabric I’ve begun to accumulate. This winter I’ve picked up more and more sewing projects which, of course, leads to more leftovers and scraps.

Fabric Storage before the clean up on Flee Fly Flown

Typically, I’ve kept fabric in old Rubbermaid storage bins and in a small cupboard, but now that the fabric has come out of storage more permanently, I wanted to find a way to store them in a “prettier package.”

Fabric Storage Organization on Flee Fly FlownWhy not use vintage suitcases for fabric storage? They’re not necessarily the most practical for travel anymore, they often come in bright, vibrant colors, and they add a little interest to a room if you don’t have a ton of closet or shelf space. I picked up a few at one of my favorite local antique market, cleaned them up (inside and out) and organized my fabric within. I then labeled them with manila shipping tags so that I wouldn’t have to open up each suitcase when looking for fabric I needed.

*A few things to keep in mind if using old suitcases for storage. When shopping for them, make sure you check the outside and the inside. Since your fabric will be inside, you don’t want the inside to be dirty or greasy. Also, make sure the inside doesn’t produce too musty of a smell that could rub off on your fabric.

If you’re having trouble finding vintage suitcases at a reasonable price around your town, you can find them online as well. Just make sure you check the pictures and measurements carefully.

Fabric Storage Labels on Flee Fly Flown

Happy spring cleaning!

- Colleen