The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsI had only just heard about The Hunger Games a few weeks ago from one of my pals, a middle school teacher, who mentioned them at a get-together. A week later, another acquaintance mentioned them, and then another friend. Being a Harry Potter and lately His Dark Materials fan, I thought it high time to check these books out.

Opportunity presented itself on Sunday while I was waiting for a flight out of Baltimore. The bubbly sales assistant at the airport bookstore couldn’t stop raving. My expectations were high.

I dove into the book Monday night (slept the whole flight home) and was hooked within paragraphs. I began to hope that the blizzard everyone was talking about would actually snow me in so that I could just sit and read all day. It did. Yesterday I finished the first of the three book between checking work email and venturing to the alley to check in on my snow-drift captive car.

Thank goodness there’s still two more books. The only thing I need now is 3 days, undisturbed, on a beach. Don’t get me wrong, yesterday was perfect for enjoying the story of Katniss unfold, but it would be much more enjoyable with the sound of waves as my white-noise instead of howling wind and snow plows.

But I digress. If you’ve enjoyed books such as 1984, The Handmaid’s Tale or even Lord of the Flies, this one will fit right in.

Wherever you find yourself this winter I would recommend picking up a copy of this book to help you escape until Spring arrives. Get the synopsis, here. Buy it locally, find where. I’ll be picking up the second and third book this evening, Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

Happy reading!

- Colleen