Whoopie Pie from Raisin CakeWhoopie pies seem to be the new cupcake. This is perfectly fine with me as there really isn’t a dessert I won’t eat, especially when there’s frosting involved. I’ve been wanting to try making these tasty delights for a while and finally had the opportunity last night when I hosted a girl’s night.

Origin: I was aware that they seemed to be an East coast trend and after a little digging it looks like Whoopie pies seem to originate in either Pennsylvania or Maine (they both claim to be the originators). The Amish in Pennsylvania have a long tradition of making them. Either way, they’re delicious and available in more and more bakeries in bigger cities throughout the U.S.

The story I like on the origin is that Amish women would bake these desserts and put them in farmers’ and children’s lunchboxes. When they found the treats in their lunches, they would shout “Whoopie!”

First contact: I had never had a Whoopie pie until last fall and it was love at first bite; I’ve had a minor obsession ever since.  Bleeding Heart Bakery  in Chicago is now a favorite stop of mine for Whoopie pies. Their pumpkin in the fall is one I crave not to mention their chocolate with peanut butter filling is amazing. They also make awesome cakes. Lucky for me there are two locations, one strategically near my sister and the other by friends.

Raspberry Lemon Whoopie Pie from Martha Stewart

Baked: So anyway, my first attempt at making Whoopie pies was last night. I made non-traditional Lemon-Raspberry Whoopie pies that turned out pretty well. They were not as pretty as Martha’s photo of course, but I’d definitely make these again and attempt some other flavors including chocolate. Yum. Follow this link for the recipe from Martha Stewart.

And here’s a few other recipes that I’d like to try:

Pumpkin

Traditional

Peanut Butter & Chocolate

Whoopie Pies by Sarah Billingsley & Amy TreadwellAnd here’s a whole slew of others compiled in a cook book, just about Whoopie Pies by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell: Whoopie Pies (Fluffernutter?! Yes please.)

Happy Thursday!

- Colleen