Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell on Flee Fly FlownI recently finished Margaret Mitchell’s brick of a book, Gone with the Wind. It’s worth the time you put in to read it even if you have seen the movie. I don’t think Vivian Leigh’s portrayal of Scarlett was quite on, but I think Clark Gable got Rhett Butler pretty close.

But I digress. I started the book on a whim after a friend mentioned she was reading it. I wasn’t expecting as much history or detail of the battles of the Civil War or the rebuilding of Atlanta as the book provided, but was pleasantly surprised by the history, woven into the story. It got me more curious about visiting Atlanta. I wouldn’t mind some tasty southern cooking, a bit of history and a bit of shopping.

Take a look at my list of ways I might plan to spend a long weekend in Atlanta…for the history-loving, vintage-seeking tourist:

Inspiration for a long weekend in and around Atlanta on Flee Fly Flown

{Top row, left to right: View from West Side Urban Market, Chili from The Varsity, Room at Stonehurst Place. Middle row: Whipstitch Fabric Shop, Barnsley Gardens Resort, Mary Mac’s Restaurant. Bottom Row: Swan House Kitchen, South of Market, Margaret Mitchell House.}

Stay: Here are a few places I’ve taken a look at that look fun. Some a bit more price-practical than others, but a girl can dream

Atlanta International Hostel :: Low Budget, Midtown, hostel-style
Stonehurst Place :: Bigger budget, Midtown, “Soho meets sweet tea”
The Ellis Hotel :: Big splurge, Downtown, sophisticated classic

Taste: This is where I really need some recommendations but I’ve heard about a couple classics that are a must.

The Varsity :: The classic drive-in
Mary Macs :: Classic Southern Cooking

Shop:

West Side Urban Market :: Eclectic shops & unique dining
Whipstitch Fabrics :: For those who need a fabric fix
Behive Co-op :: Locally handmade shopping collective
South of Market :: High-end antiques
Paris on Ponce :: Three-buildings worth of antiques, consignment, vintage, you name it (Sounds like heaven!)
Scott Antique Market :: Always looking for old goodies
Outdoor Markets :: Art, Craft, Festivals and such

Vintage scene of Peachtree Street

Explore:

– Old & New South Self-Guided Tour Suggestion
Five Points :: Historic heart of the city. (Referred to a lot in GWTW
Buckhead :: Well-to-do, tree-lined neighborhood worth strolling around
Margaret Mitchell House :: Take time to learn more about the authoress
Swan House, Gardens & Grounds :: Historic and beautiful.
– Take a day in Jonesboro, Clayton County :: For a more in-depth Gone with the Wind fix
Barnsley Gardens Resort :: A really big splurge at this amazing looking B&B

Entertain: I came across the site Creative Loafing Atlanta as I was finishing up this post. Definitely check out this site for more ideas that may be off the beaten path from food, to music, shops, art and more…

Buckhead Theatre :: Historic theater, popular music venue.

This list is looking long, perhaps I’ll need a week. I would love to hear your suggestions on creative or inspiring places I should explore for this currently fictitious trip to Atlanta. Leave your comments; I plan to get there (hopefully) sooner rather than later.

- Colleen