Driving the Northway on Flee Fly Flown

As I make my way north and over the U.P. toward my family’s cabin to celebrate Thanksgiving, I’m planning to listen to an audio book to pass most of the time, but I’ll need a little musical relief as well. Here’s a shorter list of some of the tunes that I’ll be singing to (thankfully no one has to hear) and helping to keep my energy going as I count the hours and miles across Michigan’s Highway 2.

If you want to listen to most of the list in succession, here’s a SoundCloud playlist to play (and for those of you on Spotify, here’s an extended playlist). Otherwise, below are each of the tracks and links to the songs (not all of the tracks are available through SoundCloud, which are marked with an asterisk.)

Where ever you celebrate Thanksgiving, may the journey be quick, the company welcoming and the food delicious.

Music for the Drive Home…

1. Where I’m Going :: Cut Copy

2. Up Up Up :: Givers

3. Vagabond :: Beirut*

4. We are Gods! We are Wolves! :: Le Loup

5. Miss K. :: Deer Tick

6. So American :: Portugal. The Man

7. Sparrow and the Wolf :: James Vincent McMorrow

8. The Water :: Johnny Flynn featuring Laura Marling*

9. In the Twilight :: Alexander*

10. Days :: The Drums

11. Go Outside :: Cults

12. Furr :: Blitzen Trapper

13. The Beaches All Closed :: No Kids*

14. I Might :: Wilco

15. Cruel :: St. Vincent

16. The Misadventure of the Campaign Kids :: King of Prussia*

17. Futile Devices :: Sufjan Stevens

18. Shake It Out :: Florence + The Machine

19. Nighttiming :: Coconut Records

20. Your Past Life as a Blast :: Okkervil River

And I hate to repeat artists, but I enjoyed this Johnny Flynn/Laura Marling tune as well, so here’s a bonus:

 Travel Light (cover) by Johnny Flynn & Laura Marling

Safe travels and happy eating!

- Colleen McIntyre on Flee Fly Flown